Tags

, , , ,

An interesting article called Online privacy: Do we have a right to be forgotten? Should we ‘embrace solitude’? published on The Next Web did start a chain of thoughts that ended in a rather long (for my standards) G+ post. It’s public but still it will probably get lost into the sea of web. So I duplicate it here, just for sake of preserving it and see if, some time from here, I will still feel the same. 

facebook engancha

It’s undeniable that social networks and the net did change our habits and ways of communicating. And sharing.
But to feel compelled it’s in fact another business. Really, just ten years ago, did you happen to even remotely think about sharing everything funny or interesting or beautiful that could jump into your face?
Right, we had our favorite music, our favorite movies, books, gadgets, ecc… But we happened maybe to pass a CD or two to our friends, from time to time. Not sharing multiple “content” every f***in’ day. And be honest, how many times have you thought, in front of some friend’s link on Facebook, “why the f**k should I be interested in this, in the first place?” “Why should I care about your holidays pictures?” Or just “seriously, again with this f***in’ meme?”

While the freedom and the possibility of sharing, discovering, learning, meeting through the net has absolutely no price and it’s an improvement of society, it comes at expense of something else. Maybe our “freedom to feel alone”? (I don’t know; in fact, I believe that social networks can also increase the feeling of solitude, it depends on how you use them).

Sharing has become, it appears, almost like a new form of self-affirming. The way to make know that you’re still there, you’re breathing and stuff. Or is it just a way to disguise the fact that, after all, you wouldn’t have anything else to say but still you must, you feel urged to say something?

Interesting enough, many self-proclaimed G+ evangelists warn people against wild sharing, encouraging to produce original thoughts, instead. The main reason: people here search for content, and if you don’t produce it, you’re not interesting (well, at least if you’re not young and hot). In my view and observations, this is a half truth: people using G+ publicly are more likely to adopt anaseptic, formal approach to the medium; but there’s a lot of people that just armour their profile and use it as a totally private space, Facebook style. And you’ll never know what the hack they’re doing in there (or if they’re really here, in the first place), go figure theorize about it.
So: maybe G+ will provide a “social medicine” to compulsive sharing? Maybe, with the amount of really valuable content over here, will teach people, once gotten more popular with the masses, to be more discrete and selective with their sharings?.

We’ll see.

But I gotta tell you: I sometimes miss the good old days in which, if I was bored and felt alone, the only option I had was to dig into myself and try to find something. Maybe, because most of the times, I actually did find something.
Call me an anachronistic, out of time, f***in’ romantic. But that’s how I feel.

